Going Mobile

Electronics, are the future, that’s very apparent. If I have my phone when I’m heading out the door, (and possibly the charger for it as well) that’s all I really need for the day. The latests phones on the market have the ability to shoot video, take pictures, record audio at a bette level than ever before. It’s only a matter of time before the cameras and devices we use in J2150 become obsolete, but is starting now too soon?

If you ask me, I think so. It’s great that I can sit front row at my favorite concert and get some great pictures on my iPhone 5, but can the guy 10 rows behind say the same thing, what about the person in the balcony? Yeah, didn’t think so.

In theory, I feel like mobile reporting is a great idea, however it isn’t completely thought out yet. I feel like there are a lot of downfalls to that. There’s battery life, sure there are things like Mophie cases, but for a journalism student with a minimum wage, part-time job, $100+ for a case, just isn’t feasible.

There’s also the fact that there aren’t any softwares that can really help a student edit the information that they gather on their phone.

I’m curious to see how the section that is using only mobile devices next semester will pan out, but for now, I just can’t see us relying solely on Apple products to do our jobs, at least not anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

