What a semester is has been

It’s funny, looking back on this semester in J2150, I feel like it was nothing like I thought it would be, but reading what I wrote the first week of school, it matches up with what I actually expected.

I thought I’d make deadlines, I thought I’d make every single deadline, with plenty of time, and even as I write this, a little less than 12 hours before it’s due, I feel like I waited until the last minute to do a lot of things. Interviews that I thought would be quick turned into 30 minutes. A “quick night of editing” turned into all nighters with my best friends, who also expected a quick night of editing.

But most importantly, I think I found my voice in this class. In my first post, I wrote that I expected to question what I’m doing at this school, why I am even in the J-School, and I did, almost every week. But I think it’s important to point out I’m still here, I’m still chugging towards that journalism degree even though most weeks, I really wanted to give up. In that regard, I’m proud of myself.

This class taught me to trust myself, trust my gut as a journalist. I think that’s so important. So what if I get on the ground and get a little dirty, it might create a great picture. Who cares if I those girls are talking a little to loud in the background, it might actually make for good natural sound. I always viewed journalism as something that was so cut and dry, which is why I wanted to bring fashion into it, because that is such a creative field. J2150 made me realize that I could still be creative, do something a little off the beaten path and still produce something awesome.

I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t terrified for the next 2 years in J-School, I totally am, and to be quite honest, I’m not sure I’ll stay, but that doesn’t change the fact that this particular class has been my favorite at Mizzou thus far. It has been a great learning experience.

Leave a Reply

