Ch-Ch-Changes

What a crazy couple of weeks its been. I started the semester with the worst of attitudes. In theory, I had three semesters left in college but with only 70 credit hour completed, I wasn’t so sure if and how I’d make it.

So, I had to do some serious soul searching, what did I like to do? What did I want to do? One morning, feeling completely defeated, I sat on the edge of my bed, held my head down and said “screw this, I’m switching to Comm.” There is such a negative connotation that comes with a University of Missouri J-School major switching to Communications. People think you can’t handle the pressure, they think your GPA is terrible, or that one of your editors or professors along the way silently told you to consider another career path.

It’s funny because none of those things happened to me. I’ve got a solid 3.0 GPA, I like to think I am/was pretty unfazed by my future in the j-school (why stay up and cry over something hasn’t happened yet?) and my journalism professors thus far, have been nothing short of amazing and supportive. But I wasn’t happy.

I came to Mizzou sold on the dream that the j-school was my golden ticket to any publication, PR firm or newsroom I wanted to work for. Two years later, I found out, it wasn’t. The unfortunate truth is journalism is a dying industry, at least print is. Jobs are hard to come by and you’ve got to be one step ahead of the game if you’re going to make it. It’s not necessarily about who interned for Seventeen magazine and who choose to stay in their home town and write for their city/regional mag, it’s what you did with your time at those publications.

I looked at my resume over winter break and was a little less than impressed with myself, at least with what I had done journalistically, so I spruced up my resume, cranked out a few cover letters, and applied everywhere I could (well, everywhere that I could live for free). In fact, I’m still applying everywhere I can. I’ve realized sometimes, it’s how bad you want it and that it’s not how you start, it’s how you finish.

So what was a blog that was supposed to highlight my journey through the University of Missouri’s School of Journalism, is now a blog dedicated to my journey through the Communications school, and my last three semesters at Mizzou, grad school applications, internships and relationships.

My journey through the j-school may be over, but life is just getting started.

Leave a Reply

