Spring Break #2K14

Wooo hoooo spring break! Let’s party!!!

Wait, I’m totally kidding. 1) Spring break is virtually over (I woke up and started sending work emails) and 2) I didn’t have a raging spring break, I never do and I’m cool with that. This spring break was all about relaxing, taking a real break from all of the things I have my hand in on campus and a bit of self reflection.

I spent the first weekend of my break in a city that I adore, Chicago. I don’t know what it is, but I really love that city. It’s close to home, it’s big, it has a fashion presence, it’s near a body of water that could serve as a beach during the summer time, it really is everything I want in a city. Now that I am growing up I look at places differently. I see them for their practicality. I like to think of how feasible it’d be to live in a particular city after graduation. I know Chicago is expensive, but I could see it happening. Plus, if I wanted to start a family, Naperville is a fantastic suburb.

But I’ve digressed. I was in Chicago for job training because I recently found out that I am the newest Dell brand ambassador for Mosaic! It all happened really fast, but it is such an amazing opportunity and I see nothing, but growth for me in this new role. For now, I am going to try to juggle two jobs and an internship and that’s mainly because this new job ends in December and starts back up again and March and since I am graduating next year, there really isn’t a guarantee that I will be able to serve as an ambassador again next year, but I’m going to try!

Anyway, I learned a lot about the Dell brand and how to work it and I have to say, I like the products. It’s easy to say that Dell is difficult, when really it’s just different and once it’s explained to you, it all makes sense. It’s going to be a lot of work and I am a little outside my comfort zone, but I am up for the challenge!

After a jam packed weekend of learning all things Dell, I decided to take Sunday afternoon and visit Northwestern University. It’s kind of always been my dream school, but I didn’t think I was good enough to get in when I was a senior in high school, so I didn’t apply. I think my parents kind of always wanted me to go there though. I would have been much closer (although tuition would’ve been much higher). It helps that my grandma lives an hour away from campus as well.

Image

I think it was the first time I actually visited campus, and I loved it. The town of Evanston is so cute and quaint, but also minutes from the city of Chicago and they had a Trader Joes (which is a huge selling point, I need my Tea Tree Tingle conditioner). Northwestern is also home to one of the best J-Schools in the country as well as the Kellog School of Business (where I hope to be getting my MBA). It was a fun afternoon exploring the town, I hope to be back fairly soon!

Since my grandma is only an hour away, I decided to spend the night at her place, especially since I hadn’t seen her since November! My grandmas are amazing, they are prayer warriors and just all around good people. Any time I get to spend with them is special to me.

I wrapped up the week back in CoMo, half being productive, half binge watching Netflix. Twas great. Now it’s the Saturday before classes start and I’ve actually got a nice amount of work to do. Guess I better get started!

Leave a Reply

