The Bucket List: Senior Year Edition

I’ve never been the biggest fan of bucket lists. I’m not crazy about the idea of doing tons of crazy awesome things right before something ends. I believe you should enjoy the entire journey, not just the end. 

So instead of stressing myself out with all the things I want to do before graduation (which is in 256 days by the way, but who’s counting) I came up with three things I want to do continuously over the next 256 days. By doing these things, I will have completed all the goals I set for myself for my time at Mizzou.

1. Be happy

You can’t sweat the small stuff, you just can’t. I’ll admit, I’m not too good at this one, in the words of Drake, I go 0 to 100 real quick. I’m controlling and a perfectionist, so naturally I want to take over things and I get upset when thing’s don’t go my way. This year, I’m really trying to live by the quote from American psychotherapist Richard Carlson, “Ask yourself this question: ‘Will this matter a year from now?'” If you think about it, it may be a little dry, rude even, but it means so much to me this year. 

There will be friends that I get into arguments with, there will be cancelled plans, and pop quizzes I won’t be prepared for (that one actually already happened) but you know what, life goes on. And this time next year, I’m not going to care about the sorta friend that said my favorite band sucked, or the C I got on one 10 point quiz, but I’ll care about the memories, my last homecoming, staying up all night and cooking with my boyfriend, how it’s going to feel to walk across that stage in May. Those are things that are important and if I could take this year to focus on the things that make me a little more happier, I’ll be better off in the long run.

2. Be healthy

I’ve struggled with this one, my weight has dramatically fluctuated while in college and currently, I’m not making as many healthy choices as I should be for my body. But this summer, I really took the time to work on my mental health, something I hadn’t done since freshman year. So this year (and going forward) I’m looking for a balance. I want to be healthy physically, mentally and spiritually. 

My boyfriend and I started our school year off at church and we both make it a point to pray and read the word (almost) daily, but I know I need to do more. I need to pray more meaningful prayers, study the word like I’d study for a test and most importantly, share God’s love with those around me. 

I want to put healthier foods in my body, and give it the rest it deserves. Staying up until midnight to watch the rerun of the Pretty Little Liars finale when I had to be up at 7 the next day, probably wasn’t the smartest choice, and now I know that. Summer is over, I can’t binge watch a season of Bob’s Burgers and then expect to function properly the next day.

I want to be fulfilled on all fronts, mind, body and soul.

3. Take risks

Those that don’t know me very well would probably say I’m a pretty big risk taker, but when I think about the last time I did something for the first time, nothing really comes to mind because it’s been that long. I’m not saying I’m going to be skydiving tomorrow or that I’m training to run a marathon in 5 months, but I am working on saying yes more often. I want to get outside my comfort zone, I want to feel a little nervous. I used to pride myself on being one of the few people from high school who went to college out of state, but that might be the bravest thing I’ve done in the last 3-4 years. I want to do something else, it doesn’t have to be as big, or as life changing, but it’s got to matter, it’s got to make me think differently and see things from a different point of view.

I’ve kicked off this last goal by accepting an internship with a bond company here in Columbia, I’ll be working as a marketing intern and even though marketing is right up my alley, bonds are not. In fact, I didn’t even know what I bond was until I looked up its meaning a few days before I landed the interview with this company. I’m nervous, I don’t want to mess up, this internship could funnel into something long term so I am definitely trying to put my best foot forward.

This year is sure to be packed with a lot of firsts, but also a lot of lasts. I’m excited for the good times and I welcome the tough times as well. After all, not too many people get to do their senior year of college more than once. 

One comment

Leave a Reply

