Black Lives Matter. My Life Matters.

Always humbled to be published on Thought Catalog.

Thought Catalog

Rocketclips, Inc. / (Shutterstock.com) Rocketclips, Inc. / (Shutterstock.com)

Like most social-justice movements in the past few years, the one that arose after the murder of Mike Brown on August 9 led to a new hashtag, #BlackLivesMatter.

After Bob McCulloch announced that a Missouri grand jury would not indict Darren Wilson yesterday, I updated my Facebook status with two simple sentences:

Black lives matter. My life matters.

Some agreed, but there were also those who did not. I am here to address those people.

A few months ago I wrote an editorial piece about black women’s beauty, and the comment section was overflowing with “I get what you’re saying, but all women are beautiful.” They were missing the point, and those of you that responded to statuses and tweets similar to mine last night with the penalizing “No, all lives matter,” shame on you.

I hoped by now I wouldn’t have to…

View original post 504 more words

Leave a Reply

