#UpForWhatever

I’m not sure if this should serve as my “new year, new me” post or as an introduction to my last semester in college. Either way it’s long over due.

The semester started just three weeks ago, but somehow it feels like the eighth week of school. With a 22 credit hour course load, being named beauty editor of my favorite online magazine The Stylish Standout (it was my favorite before I started writing for them, promise) looking for a full-time job after graduation and serving as Bud Light’s new #UpForWhatever ambassador it’s pretty clear why I feel so overwhelmed (and why my days of binge watching Netflix are over).

It’s almost hilarious to me that I thought I was really going to take a back seat approach to the semester. I swore I was only going to focus on graduating and getting a job after graduation, but three weeks in and I am doing so much more than that.

I just can’t sit still. That’s my problem. I like having my hand in everything, I really like being involved and I like being able to better myself because of all that I’m involved in.

But this post isn’t supposed to be about my busy schedule, it’s about why I am choosing to be #UpForWhatever for the next 100 days (possibly a little longer, but I graduate in 100 days, so that’s where the number came from).

This week, I got the amazing opportunity to visit Dallas for a few days for job training with The Marketing Arm, an agency that creates marketing content for companies such as Pepsi, Nintendo and AT&T. The goal was for the ambassadors to learn as much about the product we would be selling as possible, but what training actually did for me was serve as a starting point for a slogan that I want to try my best to live by all semester.

For those of you that aren’t familiar with Bud Light’s #UpForWhatever campaign, it started last year during the Superbowl and has now funneled into a nationwide movement. Bartenders and Bud Light Ambassadors all over the country are serving Bud Light asking their customers if they are #UpForWhatever and what follows is truly amazing.

Naturally, being in training all week with college students we overused the phrase (I mean we really overused the phrase) and I was so annoyed by the end of it. But on the plan ride home, I got to thinking about how it’s not just a catchy phrase, or a great way to get drunk people to do some really stupid things, it could be a way of life, at least for the next few months.

I constantly get so caught up in the details, in worrying about what is next and making sure everything is set to go the way I want it to or think that it should go and well, that’s just not how life is. And it’s definitely not how it should be. Murphy’s Law, everything that can go wrong, probably will and so you have to be flexible and roll with punches.

That is why from today until (at least) graduation I plan to be #UpForWhatever. Now that doesn’t mean that I’m going to go skydiving today instead of going to class or anything like that, but it does mean I am going to practice being flexible, trying new things and not worrying so much about what will happen if I’m not in bed by 11:30 p.m. every night.

To me, being #UpForWhatever isn’t about playing Russian Roulette with your life. I’m not going to drop out of college or act like my last semester doesn’t count or exist because 1) that’s stupid and 2) I’d very much still like to get into grad school. It’s about taking risks. It’s about doing the things you said you’d do your first semester in college, it’s chasing after that dream you’ve always wanted and being okay with whatever the outcome is, even if it isn’t in your favor. What Bud Light has done with this hashtag is actually rather powerful and it has ignited a passion in me to just chill out and enjoy life.

I’m excited. I want this to last well beyond the next three months. Look at it this way, you can spend the rest of your life, planning what will happen next, or you can take a breath, slow down, prepare and no matter what happens still be #UpForWhatever.

One comment

  1. Yessss BK! I’m so pumped to see what new experiences you’re going to have! It’s the only way life will open up and your path made clear for you. It’s like Kanye said “Everything I’m not made me everything I am.” And the only way to find out is to try.

Leave a Reply

