Post Grad Life

I’ve debated writing this since an hour after my family and boyfriend left me in KC almost 6 weeks ago, but I thought I was overreacting and that no one would care and six weeks later, I still feel the same way, but sometimes, you’ve just got to get things out.

I miss college. A lot of my friends are headed back to Mizzou this week and the snaps and “Back in CoMo” statuses started rolling in and honestly, I felt a tinge of jealousy.

I don’t miss the school part, the 10 page papers I wrote at 2 a.m. or the tests I barely studied for, or even the presentations, but at Mizzou I had an identity, I meant something to people on that campus and even though it’s a very large institution, I never felt like a number.

The real world isn’t like that. The world doesn’t care what I understand and what I don’t (see below) and they aren’t interested in helping me figure things out either.

life

College came with Netflix binges and nap time, it was easy to meet people and make friends, mainly because everyone is in the same boat, so it was an even playing field.

But it isn’t all bad, I’ve learned so much at work, like so much. It’s actually kind of crazy. I’ve got a slightly better idea of what I want to do with my life and I took a chance on freelancing a few weeks ago and landed my first client recently!

I thought I’d have more time to update this blog, but that hasn’t quite been the case, but I’m going to start Freestyle Fridays that force me to write at least once a week. They won’t be cohesive whatsoever, but it’s not about that. It’s about just getting the words out (something my seventh grade English teacher always encouraged).

I’m hopping things get better, and I’m sure they will, it just might take some time. For now, I’ll just enjoy the ride.

One comment

Leave a Reply

